Link

Day 12

12 c_365 Guitars12b_365 Guitars

Woo-hoo!  Today’s guitar, today!  Finally caught myself up to be able to blog in “real time” on a daily basis with this little gem – a punched tin rendition that put one of those million cookie tins from Christmas back to work, and left me with a whole new appreciation for punched tin pie cupboards – which, I have to say, I have always admired, which is why I embarked upon this in the first place.  While I’m certain a number of those cupboards were done with templates, the complexity of some of the designs now leaves me a little breathless.  Especially since I’m equally certain that there were any number of them that were done freehand – just a square nail, a sheet of tin and a hammer.  I did this one freehand (yes, surprise!)  with a meat mallet and a screwdriver (yes, it is still cold.)

I also find myself pondering the mysteries of the  profile portrait of Buffalo Bill that hangs in the bar of the Irma Hotel in Cody, Wyoming.  Annie Oakley did that punched tin rendition with a six-shooter.  If there was ever a question in my mind about why she was such an attraction with the Wild West Show, I’m over it – she had to have been nothing short of  awesome to watch.  It makes me want to get on a plane and head to Cody right now, just to have a drink and that bar and toast her prowess.

12_365 Guitars 24 Jan 13


Leave a Reply

