Play That Sweet Guitar

Day 20

Amazingly, I’m still going fairly strong after 20 days.  Who knew?  That being said, there are still 345 days to look forward to – I’m just not as daunted as I was in the beginning – I’m beginning to see a kind of pattern in how the ideas are emerging – mostly I’m probably sharpening my observation skills as I see guitars in everything.

This time, I was in the Super Walmart in Middletown, Delaware.  Someone said that it is the largest Walmart – somewhere, and I frankly forget where – the East Coast?  I know that it is large enough to house enough tribal groups to create territorial claims, but I have no way, really of judging how it compares to other Walmarts anywhere.  I’m good with “It’s really, really big.”  I can’t now tell you why I was there – I was probably out of popcorn and was coming by early enough that there seemed to be an opening in the parking lot.  Out of popcorn is kind of an emergency in my house.  It makes sense.

In any event, I was in the grocery section  and turned inadvertently into the aisle marked “Seasonal.”  Clearly, “Seasonal” in February is Valentine’s Day.  Nothing else.  I guess there is nothing edible or marketable about Ground Hog’s Day or even today’s Working Naked Day?  (http://www.gone-ta-pott.com/weird_february_holidays.html) But oh my!  An entire aisle about 200 yards long of guitar potential!  It took me much longer to get permission to spread the guitar out than it took to make it – once I narrowed down the choices and opted for the biggest one I could find.  The woman stocking the the next aisle was really helpful and nice…but it was good I asked.  For safety code reasons, her supervisor closed the aisle – I just guess he never imaged that it would only be for two minutes.

Meanwhile, no chocolate was harmed in the filming of this guitar …20_365 Guitars Heart Guitar 23 Jan 1320b_365Guitars


5 comments

  1. This is one of the more “tasteful” Walmartian pictures I’ve seen. I look forward to seeing what you come up with each day–keep em coming.

  2. I’ve enjoyed them all, but this is my favorite so far. What a great story and nice to know that appreciation of art can be found even in the grocery aisles at Wal-Mart. Thanks.

  3. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to take
    a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great blog!


Leave a Reply

