Hurricane Residuals

Day 162

I finally got around to having someone in to clean up the mess made when the cedar three went over last October during hurricane Sandy.  I know, it seems like a long time to wait, but well, it’s how it worked out.  There was no danger, and so many other things to do.

My friend Jim planted those cedars when I first moved to the farm – oh, 25 years ago or more.  They were little things then, and there were four of them.  As of today, only one is still standing – massive and vulnerable.  Hurricanes have taken them all, one by one.  I could name the trees by their nemeses – Floyd, Irene, Sandy.  I miss those trees.  They were my best shield from northern winds, and they gave me a sense of privacy – though the road is a long way away, and it probably isn’t an issue, the sense of it was nice.  I don’t know what I can plant to replace them.  Maybe Italian Cypress – the weather is always going to be a problem, but with a deep enough tap root, maybe I can get something to withstand the blasts…

162_365 Guitars

On another front, I have a blue bird house by the studio that is constantly occupied during the season, in spite of being directly in a traffic path – ok, maybe talking about me moving about is hardly traffic, still it seems very sociable for the birds to be that close to the action.  I don’t do it often, but since I don’t have to touch anything, a photo doesn’t seem to be a bother.  The babys are growing – they are finally starting to get pin feathers and color – I’m pretty sure the parents are happy to see it.  They must be about exhausted trying to keep the four chicks fed.

Baby Blues


3 comments

  1. The baby birds are as special to see as your guitar this morning. I had robins nest under the eves of my portico at the front door. Four hatched and now they seem to be hanging out around the back yard. It was a thrill to check on them everyday and watch them be fed. Mama didn’t seem to mind our peering out the windows and dad was a big ol’ macho boy (never thought I’d use that term for a robin) who perched at the edge of the nest protectively watching the fab four grow.

    • Over the years I have fostered a number of robins, grackles, gold finches, Canada geese, and other orphaned birds. The robins are always really the easiest – even when they have been blown out of a tree, once they are fed and stable, I can put them out in the grass and a robin will find them – probably the parents, but I’m not always certain. It is really interesting behavior. I may have to put the babies in the yard a couple of times before they are adopted – but it always happens. It is a beautiful thing 🙂

  2. Baby birds are so fascinating! They go from impossibly immature to full adults so quickly and all it takes is a never ending stream of parents ready to shove new things down their throat! It makes me happy to be human and know how to use a grocery store.


Leave a Reply

