Gang of Poults Is Not a Music Term

Day 203

I was greeted at studio yesterday with a gift of sugar cookies – and it looks as though by now I am thematically branded.  But it’s good, really.  This could almost be my shield emblem, if I needed such a thing, a component of a new family crest; if the dogs thought that heraldry was going to be important in their lineage.  I’m sure they’d go for cookies – guitar shaped, OK…

203_365 Guitars

I was likewise greeted by a veritable parade of wild turkeys – what is a herd of turkeys called again? Ah, Bing!  A rafter, or a gang.  I never really thought of turkeys as being threatening, even in large groups, so I’m going to have to go with rafter.  Normally quite shy, this particular rafter acted slightly affronted by my presence, and moved off with the young ones at a relatively stately pace, rather than fleeing.  But there must have been 15 or so of them, hens and poults…yes, even baby turkeys have their own term.  You would think I could negotiate the terminology by now, living as I do in the midst of an ostentation of peacocks, but well, there is something new every day…

203a_365 Guitars


4 comments

  1. 1. Thanks for the guitar pics! Awesome stuff!, and;
    2. Male turkeys are called toms, female turkeys are called hens, baby turkeys are called poults, a group of wild turkeys is called a flock and a group of domesticated turkeys is called a rafter.

    Go figure.

  2. Pingback: blog page rank 1 do follow


Leave a Reply

