Tourism, Finland – Make Air, Not War

Day 220

US Champion Air Guitar

US Champion Air Guitar

There have been a few days out of lo! these many when I have not actually made a guitar.  There have been perfectly plausible reasons for this, and I did not actually bail on the project – I just approached it from another angle.  That’s what’s happening today.  Get used to it.  It is that time of year again.  In far off Oulu, Finland, it is time for the 18th Annual Air Guitar World Championships.  Check it out:  they have a FaceBook Page for you to Like, and a website for you to explore:  http://www.airguitarworldchampionships.com  This is where you will learn about National Championships – I mean, who knew?  But really, Oulu is the epicenter of people working themselves into amazingly ugly facial contortions to win what appears to be a belt buckle that combines the subtle delicacy of the World Boxing Association with the swag of a Rodeo Champion.  From what I can see, you could turn it around, put legs on it, and upholster it into a very fine bar stool indeed. Or wait – that may just be the prize for the US Champion.  He may have arrived wearing that thing.  I really don’t know what you win if you take the World Championship.  I’m going to have to take a look…see if the links actually tell me.  It so doesn’t matter to me.  I just want to be a groupie anyway…I can’t played barred chords to save my life.  I don’t know why it would be any different with an Air Guitar.  The best prize would be to be in Oulu where a part of my family lives anyway…

Now, obviously lifted without regret from their FaceBook Page I give you this much more information:

About

The purpose of the Air Guitar World Championships is to promote world peace. According to the ideology of the Air Guitar, wars end, climate change stops and all bad things disappear, if all the people in the world played the Air Guitar.

Mission

The purpose of the Air Guitar World Championships is to promote world peace. According to the ideology of the Air Guitar, wars would end and all bad things would disappear, if all the people in the world played the Air Guitar. This is why the whole universe is invited to play the Air Guitar at the end of the competition.

Company Overview

Air Guitar World Championships is a registered trademark and an annual event held in Oulu, Northern Finland.  (So, I would assume, is most of my chosen title for the day…)

General Information

The 18th Air Guitar World Championships will take place in Oulu, Finland on 21-24 August 2013. The World Final is battled at Rotuaari Square on Friday 23 August.

Random thoughts:  Has there ever been an “Unplugged” Air Guitar concert?

Is Air Guitar played with a pick?

Is there a Fantasy League for this?

A much less random thought.  I REALLY want to go to this some time.  OK, maybe not tomorrow, but soon.  I have insider information that Oulu is THE place to be – most any time of year.


One comment


Leave a Reply

