The Return of Super Fluffy

Day 228

228_365 Guitars

The package from Germany was loaded with favorites – coffee, chocolate, marzipan…and what seems to be common in Europe, but not seen here (that I know of) – Super Fluffy modeling clay.  Which comes in a great many colors, apparently, and can be bought in packages that also come with a modeling tool.  This is great.  Makes a guitar without ever breaking a seal.

I am trying to work out in my head an explanation of this Super Fluffy stuff.  It is kind of having a semi-liquid foam rubber to work with – that eventually becomes actual foam rubber.  Which is to say that it models but never really hardens – it retains a sort of spring and flexibility.  Before I worked with it, I’m not sure I could have imagined it.  Actually, I’m trying to imagine the person who came up with it.  Was it an intentional thing, or the byproduct of more serious work?  It has to be a byproduct.  I can’t think of a scenario where someone sat down with the intent of creating a new craft product like this…unless it has something to do with the theater or the movies.  Yes, maybe then.  I should research this, but I think no.  I’ll just stick to making things up about it.  What I can say is that the colors are quite vivid and stay that way even after drying.  It’s fun.  Good enough.


2 comments

  1. So what can you do with it? I’m stuck imagining rubber balls which would be like spreading fake mud on your tires in the rainy season. I just can’t figure this out!


Leave a Reply

