Honey in the Rock

 

235a_365 GuitarsDay 235

235b_365 Guitars  I can guarantee that the sun is later coming up than it has been.  It is certainly not that I am getting up earlier.  But the air is delicious and I am drawn out to walk along with the rising sun.  There are any number of things to see this time of the day, from the twin fawns that turned tail as I raised my head from taking the photo of the guitar, to the neighbor who drove by and stopped for a chat.

Something really cool happened yesterday.  I started this whole project after reading a book by Noah Scalin called 365: A Daily Creativity Journal: Make Something Everyday and Change Your Life.  Yesterday Noah stopped by 365 Guitars to visit and ask about my progress.  I sent him off an email, and now, sometime in the next weeks, he says he will post a nod to me on his blog:  http://makesomething365.blogspot.com/p/share.html  He has inspired countless numbers of people – if you look you are likely to be overwhelmed by the enormity of human creativity.  It is awesome.  It is rather humbling, but in a good way.  I feel like I am in very good company.

Today’s guitar was less a matter of creating than of seeing.  I find this a lot – the form is all around me, and the less I struggle to find one, the more readily it reveals itself.  The name?  Well, it actually comes from the all woman a cappella group out of Washington DC – Sweet Honey in the Rock…a group that has been around forever (well, since 1973) because they are just that good.

235_365 Guitars


 


Leave a Reply

